The Life Cycle of a Muslim Uni Student

Standard

photo looks very much like my university, UNSW, Syndey, Australia. Which has the best Islamic society in Sydney, we have a very big and supportive community, Alhamdulillah

Love Haqtually

I imagine leaving high school is somewhat similar to being released from prison. After all, school is a lot like a prison: a comfortable, cossetted prison, but a prison nonetheless, even down to the uniforms. I certainly felt like I was incarcerated in Year 12. I’d count down the days until I was done, imagining all the great, exciting things waiting for me beyond the classroom walls. When I finally emerged at the end of Year 12, I was pumped and ready to go. I didn’t know it then, but I was about to go down a fairly predictable path. Of course, at the time it was all unfamiliar and exhilarating. Islamic Awareness Week? What a novel idea! Scooping  up burnt onions onto bread to serve up to a queue of hungry diners? Sign me up!

Now that I’m just a little bit older, I realise that leaving high school…

View original post 969 more words

